Remember the post regarding the need to be able to change the official order of finish after the results were declared official if the judges saw something new during a hearing? I just wanted to provide an update to the race in question since some of you had opined regarding whether or not there was an infraction and/or who may have been at fault.
Here is an amended ruling (you can find the complete ruling at the CHRB website under the Stewards minutes for December 30, 2012) regarding the alleged incident(s). Apparently the judges had found no problem regarding putting the wheel under the #1 "Bewareofthisaffiar", but found fault regarding Lackey's throwing his head back.
DRIVER JAMES LACKEY, WHO DROVE #4 "LADY’S ART" IN THE FOURTH RACE ON SATURDAY, DECEMBER 22, 2012, IS HEREBY FINED THE SUM OF ONE HUNDRED ($100.00)* DOLLARS FOR VIOLATION OF CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD RULE #1721 (1) (COMMIT ANY ACT WHICH SHALL IMPEDE THE PROGRESS OF ANOTHER HORSE). VIOLATION OCCURRED PAST THE ¼ MILE MARKER.
The above ruling was issued after Driver Lackey appeared and admitted to being too aggressive with his helmet to ward off a rival.
Michigan Racing Denied Again: The Governor's office explains why it will pocket veto the Instant Racing Bill.